The enemy is always lurking…

In church, there was an upset man.  I don’t exactly know why, but I know that people were concerned… both for him and about him.  Nothing happened, but I was fearful just the same.  Too many “what if’s” invaded my thoughts.  However, the illusion of our safety, anywhere, is just that…an illusion.  During this time, I watched lots of people come happily through the doors unaware of anything amiss.  Here, I happened to be “in the know”, but how many times have I also been an unknowing bystander to potential danger?  In analyzing my fear, I realized that there was another threat behind the obvious one.  I had allowed the enemy to accomplish his task.  What a master plan if the enemy could make me feel afraid to go to church.

It’s all very metaphorical.  The reality is that there are so many places that we deem safe, but they aren’t ….. really.  The enemy is always lurking.  ( I refuse to give him a capital E to lend any undue importance.) Most of the time we are cluelessly unaware of his presence.  Thus, we are unarmed and unprepared in the face of the greatest potential threat.  Danger to our Faith.  The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist.   Worry chips away at the the foundation of Faith.  Worry is actually a sign of lack of Faith.  The two can not go hand in hand.  If I believe that the Creator of the Universe knows my name, then I need to be on my guard at all times against the enemy. There are no safe places, but there is a safe God.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.         ~ Philippians 4:6

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

