Seeking Wisdom….

Oh My…what a quest that is and will be!  Why have I waded through the majority of my life without actively seeking it…wisdom, that is.   So now in my senior years, I am finally getting around to seeing the value of its importance. I am intentionally looking for it now.  There it is again… Intention.  Socrates said, The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.  Well, I’ve got that one down perfectly.

Recently, my favorite Christian Educator, Andy Stanley, encouraged us to just ask the question, “What is the wise thing for me to do taking into account my past experiences, my current situation, and my future hopes and dreams?”  What a loaded question with some hard truths.  I think if I had been asking that question my whole life I would be in a much different place.  Now, don’t get me wrong…I LOVE my place, but I think that question would have definitely steered me around some potholes on the way to getting here.  I also wonder IF I had been in possession of the knowledge I have now when I was younger, would I have taken heed or would I have let that stubborn nature of my youth get the best of me? I have read articles about the frontal lobe not being fully developed until you are in your twenties…so maybe that is my excuse.  Maybe not!  However, I definitely don’t have that excuse now.

With age…comes a form of experiential wisdom and I feel sure that I have gained some of that….but I want to be really WISE! How do you get that way?  I don’t want to be wise so that people will think I’m wise, I want to be wise so that I can make wise decisions.  I want to be able to discern between wisdom and folly. I want the wisdom to make hard choices.   If I’m not wise and  I ask that question, how can I rest assured that the answer I choose is really the wise one and not one that I conveniently talk myself into believing?  I don’t trust myself, selfish human being that I am.  I find that I am really quite good at talking myself into things.  How do I know that in answering that question I am not only thinking of MY best interest, instead of  taking into account those I love.  I am not on this journey alone.  Instead of being me-centric  I need my answer to  us-centric.   I find it all to be very daunting.  It doesn’t help that I have an analytic personality disorder…. just made that one up.  However, I do tend to second guess myself on every single decision and then proceed to analyze Ad infinitum.

In the Old Testament, King Solomon, the son of David and Bathsheba is renowned for his wisdom.  When Solomon became king of the United kingdom of Judah and Israel he asked God to help him rule his people well and wisely. God was pleased with this humble and selfless request, instead of asking for longevity or wealth.  God agreed to do as Solomon asked and thus, Solomon became the wisest man that ever lived.

1 Kings 3:12   Behold, I have done according to thy words: lo, I have given thee a wise and an understanding heart; so that there was none like thee before thee, neither after thee shall any arise like unto thee.

Okay so, if I pray humbly and ask for wisdom, will I also receive it in abundance?

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him. ~James 1:5

I do pray for it all of the time and I am SO trying to be patient.  I think patience may well be my major problem and biggest stumbling block, both in the waiting for an answer to a prayer and also in not patiently pondering before making a wise choice.  Perhaps if I truly allowed myself to “Be still, and know that I am God” ~ Psalm 46:10,  I may find the wisdom that I seek.

There are many promises to those who seek wisdom…

Proverbs 4: 5-7

Get wisdom, get understanding; do not forget my words or turn away from them.  Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you; love her and she will watch over you.  The beginning of wisdom is this:  Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding.

….and I want all of them, so continue to seek I shall.   Thoughts?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seeking Wisdom….

  1. Ginger Wilkins says:

    From the Daily Devotional I’m reading:

    “Wisdom is a tree of life to those who embrace her; happy are those who hold her tightly.” -Proverbs 3:18

    “If any of you needs wisdom, you should ask God for it. He is generous to everyone and will give you wisdom without criticizing you.” – James 1:5

    Like

  2. Laurin says:

    I’m not sure I’ve got the wisdom thing yet, my frontal lobe probably just closed last year:) But I do believe your prayers, self-examination, truth seeking and intention will lead you there! So excited for you and this blog, I already love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

