Indecision may or may not be my problem!

HELLO…totally me!  I just can’t seem to pull the trigger on a clear cut decision.  What. is. UP. with. that?  It appears in all venues of my life….what to wear, meal planning, gift selections, shopping, what to do today….the list goes on and on.  I’ve always been a tad indecisive, but oh my goodness, I must admit that it has reached EPIC proportions.

I have now added a new category to my indecisive arena. What will my grandmother name be?   Let’s be real people, do I actually have a choice in the matter?  From all the grandparents I know that are already in this coveted club, the precious little angel comes up with their own moniker for you.  So why obsess?  Because I can, that’s why!

So here is the dilemma.  I want the name to stick for both sons and their families. I have two sons with two other sets of in-laws.  So that is a set of names already off the table.  One set already has six grandchildren and her name is established…Mimi..  The other set is about to get their first grandbaby like us, and she’s chosen GiGi.  I called my own wonderful Grandmother,  MaMa, and that name is retired to the hall of fame forever in my book.  My own children called my Mother, Grandma…also retired and Steve’s Mother, Grandmother…too formal.   My daughter in laws’ maiden name is Graham so would anything that sounds like that be confusing eventually?  I always thought I wanted to be Grams, so is that out???   AND, I want it to somehow represent me.  Ahhhhhhh…..decisions.

After perusing a multitude of Grandparent lists on the internet, Yes…multitude…there are books on this subject as well, I have zeroed in on one potential…Pippi.  It is actually on a grandmother name list.  I’m not making that up.  Here is my rationale.  It is certainly not going to be chosen by the other two grandmothers, in case they change their minds about the names they have chosen. I discovered that it is a common grandmother name in Switzerland…so that makes me neutral!  It starts with the same letter as my name.  Philippians is my most favorite chapter of the New Testament because it is the JOY chapter and take out a few letters and you have Pippi.  I have always loved Pippi Longstocking because she was unique….and I aspire to be a unique grandmother.   I think it would be easy for a child to say.  It also means lover of horses….which I am!!!! Soooooo???

SO, I decided on Pippi for all of the above reasons, but do I spell it with an “i – Pippi” or a “y – Pippy” ? !  ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Indecision may or may not be my problem!

  1. Gwendine says:

    Love Pippi for you!!!

    Like

  2. I like Pippi! I, just as you did, labored over what I wanted my grandmother name to be. I didn’t want “Nana” as that was my mom’s and her mother before that, and “Grandma” makes me feel old. We were watching a movie (can’t recall the name) with Betty White playing the grandmother. When her grandson called her “Gammie,” I knew right away that was the name for me! 🙂
    So excited for you, Pam! Grandchildren are the best!

    Like

  3. Carrie r says:

    Grammy Pammy. Haha! Just kidding. Pippi is great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

