Happy Chickens….

If one is intentional in looking, tree stars can be found in the most unusual of places.  I found one recently in Mama Bird’s Granola, which is one of Athens’ newest eclectic establishments.   This is yet another reason why I love this town that I call home.  My sweet husband started this ball rolling by giving me some gift certificates and thus I found myself perusing the hodgepodge of their wares.

This wonderfully delightful young man was in charge of giving me the tour.  He showed me the local artistry selections from painters and potters, the produce that could be found in the form of soups, salsa’s, jellies, jams, oils, chocolates and the likes, but the item that stopped me in my tracks was their eggs.  He proudly showed me some eggs from a local farmer and he added with a smile, “they come from happy chickens”.    I returned his smile and asked him to explain that to me, because it had certainly piqued my curiosity.  He said that on that particular farm, they had chickens that shared their roost with cats.  They would sleep curled up together each night.  I don’t know how many there were…he just said “chickens and cats” as if I should understand that concept.  (please see my blog entitled “The wolf will lie down with lamb” to see how I feel on THAT subject.)  Anyway, he told me that when our winter storms hit, all the other chickens in the nearby farms quit laying eggs…but not so with the “happy chickens”…they kept on laying.  Those chickens had the same food and shelter as all of the other ones…so what made that critical happy difference…the trusting relationship with the cats??

So, aside from the obvious benefits of being happy, it started me searching for the message to be found in this wonderful little vignette  that I had accidentally on purpose stumbled upon.  Is this God’s gentle prodding from our natural world to show us something profound?   Is this a metaphor for the relationship with our Father in Heaven?  Scripture promises that when we have a relationship with God built on faith and trust,  the Holy Spirit will be free to produce the Fruits of His Divine nature:  love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control… even, or especially, during the storms of life.

Sounds like to me like we can learn a little something from those happy chickens.  : )

 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” ~ Galatians 5:22-23

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

