Are you on… the list?

I saw a movie the other day where Clint Eastwood, secret service man extraordinaire, dived in front of an oncoming bullet to save the life of the fictional president. He evidenced some pretty raw courage with this life choice, as I’m sure his real life counterparts must do in the line of duty.  It got me to thinking though…who would I take a bullet for?  Now that is a galvanizing question, is it not? I must confess with shame that my list wasn’t very long.  Maybe I might surprise myself with a heroic act in the heat of a moment, or with an intensive adrenalin rush coursing through my limbic system.  I’d like to think that it is in me to rise to the occasion but, I haven’t been tested so I’m really not so sure. I read about those situations all the time where soldiers give their lives for their comrades and people of their homelands, teachers shield their students in extreme situations, firemen rush into burning buildings, heroes dive into shark infested waters to save drowning victims…and they end up losing their life to save someone else.

Seriously…who is on your list when you get down to brass tacks?  I don’t know about you, but my list consists of those I love most in this world.  They are the ones that I would want to save.   They are the ones that I would rather not live, if I have to live without them.  If weighed in the balance, the pain of losing them would be far greater for me than the fear of losing my life.   (I secretly also harbor the hope that I might be on someone’s list too.)  However in taking this a step further, I know who would not be on my list.   I wouldn’t have the same compulsion to take a bullet for the bad guys out there or the people who have hurt me.  I’m sure somebody must love those people, and they are on someone’s list, but not mine.

When I think in these terms, it makes a 2,000 year old story ever more powerful, at least for me.   Jesus died for …..everyone. He took the bullet for the good, the bad, the ugly, the ones who hurt Him…. the sinners….so that all could be saved. I know that I could be neatly placed in all of those categories.  That really doesn’t make sense – human sense that is.  Could you actually see yourself doing that?  Then I remember that we are all made in the image of our Heavenly Father.  I think He gave us the feelings that there are those we love so powerfully that we would be willing to die for them,  so that we would know the love He feels for us and the magnanimity of what His Son did for us.  His is a Divine love that knows no bounds and we are given a glimpse of that.  All. of. us.  Thankfully everybody is on His list…even me.   All we have to say is yes please and thank you…and really, why wouldn’t you want to be on a list where someone wants to save your life?  That only makes sense.

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”~ Romans 5:8

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are you on… the list?

  1. “He took the bullet for the good, the bad, the ugly, the ones who hurt Him . . .” We need to remember that and give thanks every single day for our salvation in Jesus.
    Blessings, Pam!

    Like

Leave a Reply

