Letting go….

I love Indiana Jones. He is a man after my own heart, seeking the great mysteries of the past in a way that involves intense adventure along the way. I am a wannabe adventurer. I live vicariously through his character, because I think know I would never be brave enough to tackle the dangers….snakes…why did it have to be snakes!!!

There is one great scene that always hits the pause button in my head  and causes me to put myself into his place. In the third movie, The Last Crusade, Indy’s father has been mortally wounded.  The only way to save him was to get the cup that Christ drank from and fill it with living water for his Father. Indiana must quickly maneuver his way through a series of ancient booby traps that were put in place by the Knights Templar to protect the chamber where the Holy Grail resides. At one point, Indy must use his Faith. There is a giant chasm separating him from his final destination and it looks positively uncrossable. One wrong step would mean his instant death. He closes his eyes, remembers what he has learned, uses his Faith and steps forward to find that there was a bridge there all along…camouflaged to near invisibility. If not for Faith, the faint of heart would be stopped right there.

Life is all about Faith. Let’s face it.  I can only really see the moment that I am currently living.  The future is hidden from me.  It’s all about believing in something that I can’t see. It’s all about letting go of what I know and believing that there IS a way. I hear the phrase…Let Go and Let God all the time. I know what it means. I understand the words, but it is not always so easy to do. In fact, sometimes it is downright terrifying, like in the scene mentioned above. The chasm is there for me. Perhaps it is filled with fear, with doubt, with anger, or with pride. The human in me wants to hold on tight and build my own bridge with minimal skills at best, not seeing that there is a better one already in place.  I really am not so arrogant as to believe I can do it better than God, but there is something that prevents me from totally letting go at times. The thing that is really crazy is that I am easily able let go in some areas of my life, with great results. So looking at those statistics, why not with all?  Yes, why not?  I’m going to try.

On one of my recent walks, I got a message from God. I see wild flowers that are tightly closed. The next day they are opened displaying all of their loveliness. It is only when they are open that we can see the gift that lays hidden. It is when they are open that they get the full light of the sun to help them grow but also to give pleasure to others…so too with us. It is a simple message.  It is when we let go and open our hands or our hearts that the beauty that God has for us shines brightly. We are called to walk by Faith and not by Sight. It is a Tree Star.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.” ~ Proverbs 3: 5-6

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Letting go….

  1. Inspiring words as always . . . Blessings, Pam!

    Like

Leave a Reply

