No buts!

A mother’s wisdom pops up when you least expect it. I guess some of those seeds planted long ago have an extended germination period. I think they must bloom when we are best ready to hear them.

When I was eighteen, I got my first “real” job. Oh, I had been babysitting  and teaching swimming lessons to the neighboring kids for years, but my first…get up every morning and work 40 hours a week… job was the summer after my senior year of high school.  It was time for me to develop some responsibility. It was a clerical government position in downtown Atlanta. My Mother got me the job and she worked in the same building. It was routine answering the phone, filing, typing, and do whatever they needed me to do kind of job. I worked there for three summers (I managed the great escape one summer) and all my Christmas holidays throughout college.

I was fortunate to have the job, but I absolutely hated it. It was so boring to me.   I was a fast worker and would knock out my to-do list fairly quickly and then sit and try to look busy for the remainder of the day.  I would write letters to my boyfriend, who now happens to be my husband.  (Hmmm, maybe I owe marrying him to that job!  Thoughts for another blog!)  Sometimes, I would have to re-do things because my boss had changed his mind or added another component or I might have made a mistake. Those summers lasted forEVER. The mundane tasks would drive me crazy and I would constantly complain to my Mom. I’m sure that she loved this wonderful attitude of mine when she had put forth her efforts to help me.  However, she would always say, “They are paying you to do what they need you to do. If they want you to do the very same thing over and over for 8 hours, then that is what you need to do and do it well. This is good training for something better.”   I would get my whine voice on and protest loudly, ”but, I want to accomplish something, I want to check something off the list, I want to do more important stuff…..”   And she would reply, “No buts!”

The thing about wisdom…it has application…to so many areas of our life. The memory of that conversation popped into my head recently, because I needed to hear it again. Not because I am working in a job I don’t like, but because I am in a new season. I want to be accomplishing something. I want to check things off my list. I want to do more important stuff, but yet, I find myself on a merry-go-round of routine tasks with no beginning and no end. My Mother’s sage words helped me to remember that God has a plan and I fit into it somewhere. Right now my job is do whatever He needs me to do… and not protest my dissatisfaction, but rather do the very best I can and believe that He is training me for something better.  My Mom was right.  No buts!

“Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!”    ~ Matthew 25:23

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No buts!

  1. Your Mom was one very sage woman, Pam, and this is a powerful lesson, as you point out here, not just when we are young, but also when we are seasoned. “Right now my job is to do whatever He needs me to do . . .” That’s our job, each and every moment of each and every day.
    May God continue to bless you and your writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

