a blip on the radar screen…

I saved a baby turtle today on my walk/run/walk. It literally made my day to help this little fellow. I make it a point to try and notice all of my surroundings on these daily excursions of mine. This wee one was trying desperately to climb a curb  more than double his height.  I gave him a gentle lift up to the grass above, removing him from the danger of the street, and  starting him on his way to the beckoning woods beyond. He hissed at me , but hopefully I would be forgiven once he has found his way back to the safety of his natural environment. I don’t know what lies beyond for him, but in that moment, I felt I’d helped and it made me smile.

It took me all of 2 seconds to accomplish this feat and I barely broke stride in doing it. For me, it was a blip on my radar screen; but for the turtle it was monumental. Although only a small curb to me, it appeared  insurmountable to him and my help was so easy to offer. It made me wonder how often mere seconds of our time could be spent in gently lifting someone up…. with a smile, a hello, a thank you, a listening ear…a mere blip on our radar screen. Today’s little rescue reminded me that I need to be on the lookout for others on my life journey that may be in need of whatever little assistance I may gently lend. I may get hissed at, but who knows what lies beyond.

“Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.”          ~ Philippians 2:4

“Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, when it is in your power to do it.”~ Proverbs 3:27

This little turtle is also a metaphor for a much bigger picture; this must be what we look like from God’s perspective. Our obstacles sometimes look insurmountable to us, but to God they are small and easily traversed.  They are but a blip on the screen of His Divine plan.  However, if we allow Him to lift us up out of our dangers, whatever they may be, we can keep moving.  He does know what lies beyond and I bet it makes Him smile.

“I am the Lord, the God of all mankind. Is anything too hard for me?” ~ Jeremiah 32:27

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a blip on the radar screen…

  1. An amazing analogy, Pam! We should be on the lookout for opportunities to help others, even when it’s in the seemingly smallest ways. Blessings!

    Like

  2. pmstevens22 says:

    Blessings to you as well my friend. Thank you for your thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

