my ruby slippers…..

When I was little, I wanted a sister. I got one when I was almost ten years old. The age difference plus the differing parenting styles in which we were raised turned out to be too much of a chasm.   I am sad to say, we were never close.   I will take responsibility for my share in that unformed bond. I was older and should have made the greater effort, but I selfishly failed to find a common ground and a connecting force. However, I never lost the innate desire for a sister relationship.   I would secretly harbor envious thoughts toward those who had been given this gift. I wanted someone who shared my roots, shared my memories, shared my joys and sorrows, and knew me better than any others. I have had the honor of some pretty wonderful friendships throughout the years that fit that description, but those friends only stayed with me for a season or two of my journey. Some people are meant to do that I suppose, move in and out of our lives.

But God heard my heart’s whispers and He found a way.  I’ve always treasured this particular friendship, but one day I realized that she has been with me for a really long time. This friend had crossed the line into family without me taking notice.  My friend and I didn’t share blood, but we have shared milestones that have inexplicably tethered us together for over 30 years. I know her story and she knows mine. We have created memories that include people that are no longer with us and the many joys, sorrows, births, and deaths that have accompanied our walk. We have words that have only meaning for us. We have looks that speak volumes. There is no pretense and no worry in our interactions, only authenticity. There is honesty…at times painful… but always necessary. There is support and accountability. Time can pass and when we meet again, it is just picking up the thread of conversation. I find such comfort in this familiarity. I’ve heard it said that true friends are the family that we get to choose.

God gave me a sister in the guise of a friend that feels way more like family than those who are family.  It was kind of like Dorothy and her Ruby slippers.  Glinda, the good witch told her,“You’ve always had the power my dear, you just had to learn it for yourself”.  I always wanted a sister and I had one all along in my friend, but I had to learn it for myself.  This kind of sister is a tree star. I am so very very thankful to have her.

“A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” ~ Proverbs 18:24

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to my ruby slippers…..

  1. Charlotte Lewis says:

    How precious this “sister” is for you, Pam.

    Like

  2. To have even one friend who is as close as a sister is an absolute blessing, Pam. Thanks for reminding us that family isn’t limited to a blood relationship!

    Like

  3. Mimi Moseley says:

    LOVE this! You my dear have been that to so many of us. I love you!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

