My Best Yes…

A very dear Friend kindly shared her morning devotional with me.   Thank you RK! I needed that!! It spoke to me as these seemingly random, but always providential, little messages do.   They are zinging arrows that swiftly find their mark in my head and heart. This particular reminder talked about an experience that someone had with another person. In evaluating the characteristics that made that person so pleasurable to be with, a description was given:

So she stayed focused on the task at hand. She wasn’t encumbered with a thousand other things pulling at her. She didn’t try to multitask too much. She wasn’t distracted by her cell phone. She wasn’t running late from one thing to the next. She said no to everything else pulling at her. So she could say yes to the story. She gave it her Best Yes.

I would so love to be described in that way …staying focused on the task at hand…saying no to everything else pulling her…so she could give it her Best Yes.   I could not help but wonder where I might actually land within that powerful description. In our world of multi-tasking mania…that person described is a rare species indeed. I don’t know about everyone else, but I think our culture is promoting and encouraging Attention Deficit Disorder. We mainly talk about ADD as a label for children; however I think we may all be casting stones from our multi-tasking glass houses. There are just too many things vying for our attention, however, that is not the problem. The real dilemma is that we seemed to have lost our ability to choose the most important task on which to focus. It is easy to get lulled into feeling that if everyone else does it, it must be okay. The evidence confronts me daily as I see people overloading their calendars, rushing hither and yon,  eating together but with heads magnetically drawn to their smart phone, answering texts in the middle of a face to face conversation (is that less rude than answering a phone call?).   I stand guilty.

Maybe it’s sensory overload or maybe it runs deeper than that.  I am lost in an endless sea of What if’s – always second guessing if who is calling, or changing a status, or tweeting, or where I need to be or what I need to do is more important than what or WHO is directly in front of me.   I offer a polite excuse me, but should I really be excused?  Am I  trampling my NOW’s in a stampede to get to my….Maybes? Am I giving my Best Yes to the things that really matter most?

Intention is a word that continues to slap me in the face time and time again. If I want people to describe me with great words, then I need demonstrate great behaviors. Who I am…my character…my name… is my most valuable asset.  The descriptors that attach to that name are paramount.  That essence of me is what I have to offer to others.  My focus, in a world of frenzy, should trump anything else when it comes to people.  I need to be intentional about valuing my NOW and the people that inhabit it.  Find my own  Best Yes is most definitely a Tree Star!

A good name is more desirable than great riches; to be esteemed is better than silver or gold.”~ Proverbs 22:1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Best Yes…

  1. Mimi Moseley says:

    Good word, Pam. I choose to be intentional today. Can’t promise tomorrow but I AM going to start this change.

    Like

  2. I think our culture does encourage to just stay busy instead of slowing down and living a life of purpose and focus. Mimi is right – being intentional is something we must choose daily. If I hadn’t begun that practice, I never would have completed my first novels and be working on my second series. Our Best Yes IS a tree star!
    Love and blessings, Pam!

    Like

Leave a Reply

