you must trust me to carry it for you….

I just finished reading a book called The Hiding Place about the true story of Corrie Ten Boom, a Christian woman in Holland who along with her family, was part of the anti-Nazi underground helping the Jewish people find safe harbor.  It is heartbreaking and inspiring and filled with an unshakable faith in God that I can only aspire to have. It is filled with a wisdom that transcends time. There are so many takeaways from this story, but I hope you’ll read it for yourself.

However, I wanted to share one passage to perhaps tuck away in the folder of your heart to be pulled out when most needed.  It is a memory of a train ride with her father when she was 10 or 11 years old. These train rides were a special time they had together when she would bring up things that had been troubling her. Corrie had read a poem in school and found a term she didn’t understand. She asked her father the meaning of sex sin.

“He turned to look at me, as he always did when answering a question, but to my surprise he said nothing.  At last he stood up, lifted his traveling case from the rack over our heads, and set it on the floor. “Will you carry it off the train, Corrie?” he said. I stood up and tugged at it. It was crammed with the watches and spare parts he had purchased that morning. “It’s too heavy”, I said. “Yes”, he said, “and it would be a pretty poor father who would ask his little girl to carry such a load. It’s the same way, Corrie, with knowledge. Some knowledge is too heavy for children. When older and stronger you can bear it. For now you must trust me to carry it for you.”

I love this from a parental standpoint! It has application to so many questions that our children may ask. It preserves innocence. The wisdom of that answer gives peace to the asker. It gives comfort in knowing that it’s okay not to know something, and trust this burden to another’s keeping. I remember when one of my sons was very little and he would worry about all kinds of things. I would tell him to give me all of his worries and I would worry for Him. I told him it was my job to worry, not his. I always hoped it helped him to pass this worry over to me. I wish I’d had the depth of wisdom of Corrie’s father to impart that brilliant analogy to help him better understand why.

Those words are not just for children though, are they?  They are for us as well. Isn’t that also the way with our Heavenly Father? There are many things that are just too heavy for us to carry. There are also answers that we don’t need to know and can entrust Him with the keeping. He tried to tell us that in the Garden, but we, hard headed humans that we are, refused to listen. But He is always ready for us to admit that our traveling case is too heavy and, like a loving Father will carry it for us.

 “Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.” ~ Psalm 55:22

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

