a thankful heart….

As we approach the Autumnal celebratory gathering of family and friends, my devotional is filled with reminders to be thankful.   Be that as it may, this emotional response to our blessings should not be limited to a particular season of the year.   A thankful heart doesn’t deny a reality filled with our problems,  but I’ve found that  it does help to take the sting out of adversity.   Thankfulness has a way of expanding and leaving little room left over for the more negative emotions that can sometimes grow like weeds if left unchecked.

When I look around me, both near and far, I realize how many  reasons that I have to give my heartfelt thanks to a God from whom all Blessings flow.  I could fill pages and pages of the minutiae of things for which I am thankful.  I am ever prayerful that I notice these things … every . single . day… and do not let them become invisible to me.  There were certainly times in my life that I took much for granted.  I am not proud of that.  However, my Tree Star is intentionality to notice, pause and give thanks.

I am thankful to have been blessed with life and be able to live it in such a beautiful natural world filled with awe and wonder.  I am thankful beyond measure for the delightful childhood that I experienced and the time period in which I grew up.  I am so eternally grateful for the treasure trove of loving people God placed along the pathway of my life to follow, and the friends that were made in the process.  I am beyond thankful for the amazing man He chose for me to marry and share my journey and my story.   My heart sings with thanksgiving for being given the blessing of parenthood and the precious children with whom He entrusted me.   I am thankful for the men of faith that my boys grew into, the beloved women they chose to share their lives, and the further blessings of grandchildren.  I am thankful for the  shelter and provisions that have always been at my disposal.  I am thankful for the good health I’ve been fortunate to have enjoyed that enables me a quality of life to work, play, and give back.  I am thankful for the place in which I live that has a rich patchwork quilt of so many of my cherished memories.   I am thankful for the pain and hurt that I’ve experienced, coupled with the Hope that I may continue to grow in trust, and will be able to use my storms to help others.  Most of all, I am thankful that in my brokenness, I have been given Grace which wipes my slate clean of all of the times I’ve fallen short.

“Thankfulness is the language of love”.  And my friends….love is the greatest of all reasons to be thankful.

Rejoice always,  pray continually,  give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” ~ 1 Thessalonians 5: 16-18

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a thankful heart….

  1. Laurin says:

    Thankful for you and Steve!

    Like

  2. Amen, Pam, amen . . . Happy Thanksgiving, my friend, each and every day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

