refrigerator faces

I love, Love, LOVE getting picture Christmas cards. It is one of my favorite things about this season. I clear the magnets off of my refrigerator right after Thanksgiving so that I can be ready to put these cherished images on there. I must confess I put each card up there straightaway before Steve even has a chance to see it. I assuage my guilty conscience by telling him that it is a grand treasure hunt for him to find the newest one. I am also constantly rearranging them. It’s the simple things. It is such a good feeling to fill it all up. I am so proud when I have one huge collage staring back at me.   I save each and every one and carefully pack them up with my decorations so that I can look at them again each Christmas. I have even given back some pictures to friends that have lost their own photographic memoir of a particular Christmas.

I recently realized as I was perusing my stash of cards that I have literally watched some of these children grow up on my refrigerator….children that I’ve never actually met in person. They are the children of beloved friends that are far flung across the USA and beyond. At one point, these people held prominent places in our day to day….but somehow….someway….we grew apart. Perhaps due to different interests, different life stages, different cities, different states or even different countries. In the midst of my happy browsing, it made me kind of sad. There I sat for hours looking back on lifetimes of growing up that I totally missed, except for my annual peek into their Christmas card world.

I must take responsibility. I realize that it is in large part my fault that I’ve never seen them. I should have made a better effort in visiting and inviting and making it happen.  Instead, I have allowed life to just get in the way. I am reminded of the quote by John Lennon…. Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans. Bittersweet words that lead to missed opportunities.  This doesn’t just happen with refrigerator faces either. So in my new stage of intention and finding tree stars…what do I do with this knowledge? Perhaps I best get busy making life happen instead.

Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.
 ~ Psalm 90:12

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to refrigerator faces

  1. May we all “make life happen.” 🙂 Blessings, Pam, and Merry Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

