good thought choices….

That’s what my devotional said yesterday. I know that I have said make good choices a million times in my life as a parent and teacher.  Instead, I guess that what I should have have said was make good thought choices.  That is really the most important part, isn’t it?  Our thoughts happen before our words come out. They happen before our actions are performed. They happen the minute our brain wakes up in the morning.   That first thought is born and with it comes a choice. It is a choice that can lead us in many directions. Each choice changes the path. It is like one of those interactive books where the reader gets to make choices and one choice changes the whole story.

I’ve heard it said that we can choose to have a happy day the minute we step out of the bed in the morning. Is the difference between a good day and a bad one merely the choice we make with our first thought? From there on in we hit a fork in the road many times which necessitates another choice, another thought choice. Can we always choose faith over fear, confidence over worry, kindness over animosity, generosity over selfishness? I think that I can try, in fact I know it, but that doesn’t mean that I will. It is much harder than it sounds.  I must confess I find that both my best intentions and my positive thoughts are quite easily hijacked toward a negative realm on some days.  But what if I could…what if I did? It would change everything.

Research on happy people shows that although we think that we act because of the way we feel, we often feel because of the way we act.  And those feelings and actions begin with a thought.  Those thoughts can lead to great experiences. They can lead us to a great life. Why would I possibly want to be unhappy when happiness is another option that I may choose?  I mustn’t forget that  I do have control over my thoughts.   It is a Tree Star to be reminded to be intentional about making a good thought choice and thank goodness we have lots of opportunities to practice.

“Your beliefs become your thoughts, Your thoughts become your words,Your words become your actions,Your actions become your habits,Your habits become your values,Your values become your destiny.”~ Mahatma Gandhi

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

