white noise…

I SO love it in all of its various forms of the natural and man made…the rhythmic splashing of the ocean waves…the whispering of the wind..the pitter-pattering of  a rainstorm…the persistent  humming of a fan…the breathy drone of the heat coming on.  Even as a child, I remember my innate desire to sit and listen to the rushing sound of running water. It calmed me then, as it calms me now. White noise surrounds me in a sort of gray comfort that I can not fully explain but I intentionally hug close.

Long ago, I traveled through Europe in winter. All of the places I stayed had a wonderful down filled comforter called a poof. It was the only covering on the bed. I was dubious that it could actually keep me warm. However, I was awestruck to find myself literally wrapped in a cloud.  I bought two of these wonders and happily dragged them around with me until I came home, so tranquilizing were they.  My sons were later  beneficiaries of these precious objects.  White noise reminds me of being ensconced in my poof. It momentarily drowns out the sounds of the world.   It also drowns out the silence that I feel compelled to pour my anxious thoughts, in the same way those little paint buckets on the computer fill a space with color.   White noise cocoons me in a sense of peace and it helps me to let go and …just relax.

I was thinking the other day about how much I really love white noise.   When I become fixated, I must drill down and dig deeper.  I know that it is always God’s way of getting my attention.  It is one of those Tree Stars I am always looking to find.  With white noise, I believe that I have found yet another example of God putting a desire in our hearts that will lead us back to Him.   We long to be surrounded by a comforting buffer.  His love is really like our white noise, if we allow Him to fill that space around us. He wants to become our bastion to drown out the noise of world. He wants to wrap us carefully up in a cocoon of His peace  that defies human understanding.  He wants to give us a sense of comfort that we can not fully explain.  And so… I prayerfully wish to let Him. 

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” ~ John 14: 27

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to white noise…

  1. In my post for tomorrow, Pam, I used this exact same scripture. 🙂 I love a quiet, silent house because it is a “white noise” where I hear God’s voice most clearly, though the other “poofs” you mention here are also soothing to my soul.
    Blessings, my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

