How do I love thee….

How do I love thee…. Autumn? Let me count the ways. I love thee to the depth and breadth and height my soul can reach.  Yes, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, you had it right with your words.  My love for fall seeps into my very soul.

The hint of a dip in the early morning temperatures tinges the air with a briskness that makes breathing a pure delight, but is merely a harbinger of better things to come. Soon all of nature will join in the autumnal dance of preparation.   I wait in giddy anticipation for the little woodland creatures that inhabit the nooks and crannies in the surrounding woods near my house to begin their innate ritual of scurrying to gather acorns and seeds to stave off  their winter hunger in a coming season barren of their daily feasts.  The trees, oh my goodness… the trees,  will soon join in on the celebration and exchange their wardrobe of greens for fiery hues of reds, yellows, and orange and I am positively tingling with impatience for this event.  This blaze, so reminiscent of a 4th of July fireworks grand finale, is worthy of our ooohhs and ahhhhs.   The harvest of the seasonal fruits dominated by pumpkins, squashes, and gourds  add to the sienna palate splashed across the canvas of our landscape.  This reaping is the beautiful culmination and powerful reminder of what can happen when seeds are carefully sown.

I revel in this season and its transformation….seriously and positively revel in it!  If I could touch it and  hold it in my hands and not let go, I would surely do so.   If I could taste the veritable colors that inhabit my environs, I would lap them up like ice cream dripping from its cone.  As it is, I will use my remaining senses to behold the cornucopia of visual delights, allow my olfactory system to dance to the aroma of fires of burning leaves, chimney smoke, and cinnamon brooms, and listen ever so intently for  the crunch of leaves on my daily walk.

Thank you God for the beauty of your world ….in every single season….but Autumn, right now, you are my favorite!  Amen!

God looked at everything he had made, and he was very pleased.~ Genesis 1: 31

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How do I love thee….

  1. My favorite season, too, Pam! You have described it most enticingly here.
    Blessings!

    Like

    • pmstevens says:

      I love all the seasons and really don’t think I could live anywhere that they weren’t distinct when each rolled around. But, I think fall has my heart. Maybe it even goes all the way back to our cheerleading days. Fall in high school was always SO fun! : ) XO

      Like

Leave a Reply

