all good things….

 All good things must come to an end…. is the familiar adage.   I know.  I know.  We probably wouldn’t appreciate them fully if they didn’t.  But can I just say how much I LOVE the season of Christmas!  I love the anticipation as it marches and builds from the empty plates of our Thanksgiving feast on throughout the month of December.  I love the sights, the smells, and the tastes.  I love…love…love… the twinkle lights, the trees, the parades, the symphony, the recitals, the ballet, the old movies, the traditions, the gatherings, the shared meals, and the happy faces of Christmas card pictures on my fridge.  I love the ghosts of Christmas Past as they hover in the recesses of my memory ready to whisk me back to being a child when Christmas took forever to get here. They remind me of those treasured days of impish wonder as we secretly carried out the duties of Santa for our young  sons. Those ghosts remind me of loved ones who are no longer with us, but dwell intertwined in all of those Christmases of bygone days.   I hold onto them…tightly….with both hands.

Most of all though, I love the Advent of something wonderful…the gift of a baby in a manager who is the Savior of the world. Can we just hold onto to THIS all year?! I want to put it all in one of my mason jars and place it where I can see it and feel it every single day. My New Year’s resolution is to try to keep all of this close to my heart…. when things get difficult or challenging, I will pull out my Christmas jar and remember and be joyful of all that has come to pass!  Maybe all good things….can just hang around for awhile.

Christmas is not a time nor a season, but a state of mind. To cherish peace and goodwill, to be plenteous in mercy, is to have the real spirit of Christmas.
~Calvin Coolidge

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to all good things….

  1. Keeping Christmas in our hearts all year long . . . That’s the spirit! Blessings, Pam!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful! This Christmas was so special in our home after several years of being away over Christmas. It was such a relaxed and wonderful time together!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

