my word…

My life is filled with words. I love them. I embrace them. They fill my head and my heart as I sift through them constantly, on the inside and the outside.  I ponder them.  I question them. I use them. I abuse them.

I have been encouraged by a dear friend to find my word for 2016. There are so many to choose from. How can I possibly limit myself to just one? Impossible I say. What one word can encompass all of my focus for the New Year?

And then it smacks me in the face. It is actually what started me on my blogging two January’s ago.  At that time I realized that for most of my life I have been reactive to my environment, rather than proactive.  I have been in a defensive posture … rather than an offensive one.  Not a good strategy for life.  This revelation led me to  start with a resolution. It has since become a quest.  Intention has been my word for quite a while.

Intention: noun; in·ten·tion \in-ˈten(t)-shən\:  a determination to act in a certain way.

It is a secular word with much Biblical application.   So my journey began along the road of Intention.  However, Intention is the noun (the thing) ….I needed the verb (the action) …. so I changed it ever so slightly to become Intentional.  My determination needs to move from a thought to an action.  This word can enfold all of my actions under its voluminous umbrella.   So Becoming Intentional….here we go.

  • I want to be intentional with my words – words that build up, instead of tear down.
  • I want to be intentional with my devotion – carving out time to learn more about God’s word and His plan.
  • I want to be intentional in being still and listening for that inner voice that nudges me out of my comfort zone to step out in Faith.
  • I want to be intentional about finding voices to speak into my world leading me in a direction that I need to go.
  • I want to be intentional about noticing the wonder of God’s world and the evidence of His presence in it.
  • I want to be intentional to spend time with my beloved family and friends and give them my full attention and my best yes.
  • I want to be intentional about my service to others – giving of my time, my treasures, and my experiences.
  • I want to be intentional to treat my body as God’s temple – caring for it as He instructed.

Being intentional doesn’t give me much wiggle room and to be honest, I don’t want to have it.   Intentional will be there to greet me when my eyes pop open in the morning and say good night when I close them.   I feel sure that lying along the path of Intention are the fruits of the Spirit and I hope to pick them up along my way like beautiful Easter Eggs.

So I am claiming it again for 2016….Intentional, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship!!!  You and I better get busy.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

~ Galatians 5: 22-23

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to my word…

  1. What a great word for 2016!!

    Like

  2. Fantastic word for the year! We should, indeed, be intentional in all we do to serve God and serve others. I will be revealing my word for the year in my post tomorrow. Stay tuned!
    Love and blessings!

    Like

  3. Sharon O says:

    Wonderful word and you have been very intentional in encouraging me in my writing and blog posting already. I value your ‘comments’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

