tongue pierced….

Steve and I are lucky enough to lead a small group for young married couples.  In our enthusiastic, but callow, attempts to mentor them, they have really mentored us.  Pouring out results in even more pouring in.   We have discovered that God honors our time given for Him by giving back immeasurably more than we can possibly imagine.

No, I am SO not getting my tongue pierced;  that happens to be the title of a book I just read that one of our younguns’ brought to our attention.  I highly recommend it.  In fact, as testimony to how much I liked it, I’ve already given it to two people.  It is so very insightful and applicable.  But most of all, it is convicting.  Our ability to communicate with each other is our common ground.  Living a tongue pierced life style is one that acknowledges the importance of using words to love God and love others.  The piercing reminds us to think before we speak.  Therefore, this book is an impressive admonition, that I needed to both hear, and absorb.  I fit it neatly and squarely under my desire to become intentional….about my words.

People worry about gun control, neglecting the fact that we are walking around with a powerful loaded weapon all the time….our mouth.  Our words can be tools for building up or instruments for tearing down or worse yet, total destruction.  We take them for granted because our words are such common place items at our disposal. However, without being intentional, our words just fall out of our me-centric mouths without filters.   We fail to take into account that not only do they influence our life’s direction, but also the generations that will follow.  Can you think back to words that inspired you….or those carelessly spoken that hurt you?  You carry them both in that knapsack of who YOU are and you are packing words in others knapsacks as well..for better or worse.

Throughout this book, examples demonstrate that the quality of my words will determine the quality of my life.  I am reminded of the quote by Gandhi that, as a teacher,  I always had posted somewhere in my classroom:

Your thoughts become your words, your words become your actions, your actions become your habits, your habits become your values, and your values become your destiny.”

 A rising tide raises all ships.  Those around me will benefit from words that are gently and lovingly spoken.  Hopefully by committing to a tongue pierced life style,  my words will be  to be kindled to build fires of purpose and change my history for the better.

King Solomon, one of the wisest men to ever live, said it best…..

“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” ~Proverbs 15:1

“Gracious words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.”  ~Proverbs 16:24

“The one who has knowledge uses words with restraint, and whoever has understanding is even-tempered.” ~ Proverbs 17:27

“The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.”  ~Proverbs 18:21

“Those who guard their mouths and their tongues keep themselves from calamity.” ~Proverbs 21:23

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to tongue pierced….

  1. Sound and powerful advice, Pam! May the Lord guard my words . . . Blessings!

    Like

  2. Convicted!!! I used to pray Psalm 141:3 every day in my prayers, but have not of late… I really need to quickly add it back as part of my daily prayers: “Set a guard over my mouth, O Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips!!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

