tabula rasa…

For over 50 years my own personal Tabula rasa began every August with the school year.  At first as a student, then as a teacher, I was thankfully given a clean slate…a do-over of sorts.   I would revel in this blank canvas to paint my new ideas, revise my old ones, make more cherished memories, and just get better.   But I believe, with retirement, I am beginning to reset my internal calendar with the advent of spring instead.  I think Nature’s clock provides me with a better metaphor for new beginnings.

For behold, the winter is past; the rain is over and gone. The flowers appear on the earth, the time of singing has come, and the voice of the turtledove is heard in our land. ~Song of Solomon 2:11-12

I discovered on my walk/run this morning that out of the ashes of a barren winter landscape , the phoenix of life is bursting forth in the form of spring.  Trees and shrubs that appeared to be deceased are now covered in tiny buds ready to explode into their various hues of green… a.k.a. my signature color.  Daffodils, tulips and random little wildflowers are bleeding their color palate amongst the islands of pine straw.  A momma dove is our miniature harbinger as she determinedly makes her nest outside my window in the eaves of our porch in preparation for her egg laying and her soon to be hatch-lings.   Sabrina, our cat, is mesmerized by this little bird’s flurry of comings and goings from the deck below.

Spring is a visual reminder that I, too, always have an opportunity for a new beginning.  It demonstrates for me the eternal hope that life can come from seeming death.  One of God’s greatest gifts comes to us in the form of Hope.  Jesus demonstrated this gift with the ultimate example of His death and Resurrection.  Nature trumpets it every single year in the vernal celebration of new life, as we march toward Easter.  As the earth restores itself in this season, so too can we.  I embrace this fresh opportunity for my attitude, my behaviors, my dreams, my relationships, and my memories.  It is a veritable Tree Star to be plucked and held close to my heart.  My canvas is ready.

We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain ~ Hebrews 6:19

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to tabula rasa…

  1. Spring is definitely the season of hope. I love, love, love watching everything come back to life, fresh and new. Time for some spring cleaning of our homes and our lives. 🙂 Blessings, Pam!

    Like

  2. Love this!!! I suppose that is why the Catholic church and some of the more traditional Protestant churches adhere to the practice of Lent. 40 days of giving up that which hinders our spiritual growth so that we can be fully prepared to receive that “clean slate” as you say, and receive the hope that springs eternal in us through the Resurrection. I always think of the advent of a new year as a new beginning but it makes more sense that we should see our new beginning in spring when all the natural world is springing to life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

