could or should…..

We had such a fun night in Athens; one of those nights that make you love your city even more.  We went to Cine’, an old time-y kind of theater with old time-y popcorn and saw a screening of Jurassic Park.  It was introduced by Dr. Steven Stice, Professor and Director of the Regenerative Bio-science Center at The University of Georgia.  His accomplishments include cloning a rabbit, a cow, and a pig.  Did you know that right here living in our own city, we have cloners?  Who knew?  He had a Q and A and answered some pretty deep questions about the potential applications of cloning in order to help reverse degenerative diseases, and the moral implications that need to be considered.  Fascinating!   I feel smarter.  Someone did ask the burning question; can we bring back dinosaurs Dr. Stice?  To which he replied, never say never.   Stay tuned on that one!  And for the record, I would steer clear of any theme parks where they have done so.  Just sayin!

Jurassic Park, which I have seen a multitude of times since its initial release in 1993, was still a terrifying and thrilling ride on the big screen.  I was morbidly curious the first time I saw it after reading the book, and that inner curiosity sprang to life with the first notes of the eerie music in the opening scenes.  One line jumped out at me years ago and it again resonated last night.  It was spoken by Dr. Ian Malcom, the mathematician who specialized in chaos theory. “Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could that they didn’t stop to think if they should.”

Those words are the essence of moral dilemma aren’t they, perhaps in science and medicine in creating dinosaurs or cloning things, but most definitely in life!   We are confronted  with them every…single…day!  There are so many things out there that we COULD do, but SHOULD we do them?  Things that are perfectly legal.  Our culture is daily delivering us up a list of what everybody else is doing!  So many things that we CAN do.  I mean, they’re doing it, why not me, right?  How many could or should paths must we choose daily?  With our desires!  With our peers!  With our need for recognition!  With our drive for success!  Oh my, what a concept.

I heard a great question that we were continually encouraged to ask ourselves:  In light of my past experiences, my current circumstances, and my future hopes and dreams, what is the WISE thing to do?   I think Ian Malcom hit the nose on the head when he said the words… they didn’t stop to think.  I will speak for myself and say that quite often I forget to stop and think, and let Wisdom do her thing.  I forget to bring Wisdom into my internal conversation.  Could and Should don’t necessarily overlap with Wise.  Sometimes I  am deceived in thinking that they do.   Thanks Ian Malcom for that giant reminder and a Jurassic Tree Star!

The wisdom of the prudent is to give thought to their ways, but the folly of fools is deception.~ Proverbs 14:8

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to could or should…..

  1. That question at the end of this post, about the wise thing to do, is from the video I heard of a sermon by Andy Stanley, through Right Now Media. I mentioned that I tried to send it to you but I suppose it wouldn’t send. Such sage advice and one that I’ve shared with several people and written in my quote book!! Didn’t know you were a Jurassic Park fan!!

    Like

    • pmstevens says:

      Yep, definitely an Andy Stanley quote from the Ask It series : ) LOVE his wisdom and perspective. I remember that you mentioned it too. So powerful and worth remembering. Yes, Jurassic Park fan here! : )

      Like

  2. We should always stop and think about those “shoulds” before making any decision. Prayer doesn’t hurt, either. In fact, that’s the very first thing we should do.
    Blessings, Pam!

    Like

  3. Laurin says:

    This might be my favorite post yet, so great, very thoughtful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

