that time I should have known better….

Okay, so I’ve probably had a lot of those unfortunate times in my life at every age and stage.  We live and learn, the hard way, so much of the time.  Why is that?  Really….WHY is that?

I had one of those this week.  I knew better.  It would have taken a few more minutes to accomplish my task, if I had acted on my knowing better instinct.  But, I didn’t.  Instead, I took a shortcut, I perched precariously on top of something I shouldn’t have been standing.  I miscalculated a step, crashed my rib cage into an extremely hard and sharp edge …and probably cracked a few of those precious bones that protect my thoracic cavity.  It could have been worse.  I’m sure I must have performed a pretty ugly dismount and wouldn’t have received many points from a Russian gymnastic judge. I am really NOT happy about my dismount.  No worries that Cirque du Soleil will be in my future either.  In the aftermath of finding myself in an extremely disheveled panicked heap on the floor, hyperventilating from fear and pain, I asked myself… what just happened?  I will have many days to painfully ponder the answer to that question every time I move or breathe. I hope I learned something…this time.

As a result of this fall, I realized I am usually on guard for the big things, but it’s often the little things that mess me up the most.  For example, I usually give careful thought before putting myself into dangerous situations out there in the world like swimming in shark infested waters or sky diving or picking up strange any snakes, but I rarely give thought to my safety going about my ordinary everyday tasks like cleaning my blinds (perched precariously on top of something I shouldn’t have been standing).  I give meticulous thought to the glaringly obvious things, and yet, give virtually no thought to little things.   Let’s face it, there are waaaay more little things, than big things, in our day-to-day life.  The odds are ever NOT in my favor if I continue to take shortcuts in my thinking.

I recently read an article talking about Superman.  He would let bullets fly at him without flinching, but he ducked if someone threw an object toward him.   I feel that a Tree Star can be found hidden somewhere in that seemingly out of character and illogical behavior from the Man of Steel?  I mean if he could stop a speeding bullet, why would he even have to worry about an object thrown at him?  But he did.

Superman’s aberrant practices, along with my own failure to know better,  have provided me with an extremely valuable metaphor for life.   Maybe, in the long run, it is even worth a couple of bruised or broken ribs.  The movie The Usual Suspects had a wonderful quote that always stuck with me.  “The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he did not exist.”  The enemy is always hoping to catch us off guard.   He is camouflaged in the everyday.  We are lulled into thinking that danger doesn’t exist in the ordinary things, but it’s there too.  Often that is how we slip up….and, proverbially or literally, fall.   It’s the little foxes that can spoil the garden .  It’s all those times we should know better….

“Catch for us the foxes, the little foxes that ruin the vineyards, our vineyards that are in bloom” ~ Song of Solomon 2: 15

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to that time I should have known better….

  1. First off, I do hope you are healing, Pam – that was quite the fall! Since I’m alone in the house a lot when everyone goes to work, I’ve discovered that I do think more about the little, everyday things that could leave me sprawling or worse, so I’m pretty careful. Also when I’m here alone, I wear my cell phone so I can call for help immediately if I get into a bind.
    Great food for thought, as always!
    Blessings!

    Like

  2. I’ve already told you one of my more stellar “should’ve known better” moments!! A great reminder that it’s usually the little things that trip us up!!! Praying for you to heal quickly!

    Like

  3. Carol Anne Everett says:

    Oh, Pam! I’m so sorry!! I hope you will be mending quickly! I’ll keep you in my prayers. When you are feeling up to it, let’s go back to the garden and do some harvesting! 🙂 Or I can bring you some of the garden bounty and we can make it a day! Love you!

    Like

    • pmstevens says:

      You are too sweet dear Carol Anne! I would love to meet you at your garden and have you come visit. Either would be a super treat for me! I am sloooooooowly mending.Boo on me!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

