the storms….

We all have them…those dark thunder clouds, coming out of nowhere, to threaten and ruin a perfectly beautiful sunny day.  They may produce either cottony gray breezes to gently make us aware of their presence OR hurricane force winds. They may come in the form of summer showers OR torrential downpours accompanied by small lapping waves OR veritable tsunamis.  It is all part and parcel of this journey we share hurtling around our sun at 67,000 miles per hour. Push your pause button for a minute to process that fact.   Yes, the storms will inevitably come, in nature and in life.  So, what do you do?  We have choices…and sometimes the best ones aren’t always the easiest or the most logical for me.   My personal reaction is to cling to fear, or jump to doubt , rather than reach for just plain trust?

I recently heard a story….again.  I heard it first as a child in Sunday School and have heard it at various times throughout my adulthood.   Now, I hear it again with fresh ears. Sometimes I find, that I am  just not ready to understand properly or maybe I just don’t listen.  Sometimes my eyes and heart are closed to a truth, and then one day, BAM, it all makes sense.  I love when that happens!

In this story that Matthew tells, we are reminded that twice the disciples found themselves on the open sea engulfed by a storm that threatened to sink their boat.  Those were Jesus’ favorite peeps, his inner circle…hand-picked to follow them.  He loved them as His brothers and YET, that did not make them immune to these storms, any more than we are.  They were terrified, just as I am with my storms.  The first time Jesus was already there in the boat with them but He was asleep.  The second time Jesus was on shore, but He came to them.  Those disciples are metaphors for US.  I have felt that way in my storms too, that maybe Jesus was asleep or absent or maybe He didn’t know I needed him?  I let my fears and doubts take over to almost swamp my boat.  Those disciples learned something in the midst of that storm.  And as I ponder the story, I have my beautiful Ah Ha moment of discovery.  Jesus knows about my storms. He cares about my storms. He can calm my storms any time He chooses. I can have peace while still in the midst of the storm because He’s in control.  He told them not to fear.  He had it covered. That is meant for US too.   I take unusual comfort in the fact that Jesus’ disciples  struggled with the same sort of fears that I do, and yet went on to do incredibly bold and fearless acts of faith and trust.   I choose to believe that I can do the same and will rest in that truth. Trust is a Tree Star worth clutching to your heart, so that storms will forever lose their fervor and their power.  It is not easy and it is certainly not logical…but it’s worth it.

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

~ Hillsong United

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

