hello old friend…..

I’ve missed you….so much!  I am so very happy you’ve come to visit again.  That Harvest Moon told me that you were on your way.  I’ve been watching the calendar and tapping my feet, and not so patiently waiting, for your arrival.   Now that you are here, please open up that Mary Poppins carpetbag full of your never-ending treasures and bring ‘em out!

Bring out your lovely orange pumpkins and gourds…the seeds, the muffins, the soups, the cookies, the cakes, the pies, and the lattes.  I’m ready to roast them, cook them, eat them, drink them, carve them and decorate my home with them.

Bring out your smells of freshly baled hay, cinnamon and spices, and chimney smoke that begin to permeate the air.  I linger outside just to embrace their olfactory loveliness.

Bring out your early morning chill that gives me a shiver, but signals your little woodland friends to begin their own little harvest.  I don’t mind pulling out my sweaters one. little. bit.  I must admit that it is a welcome respite from Summer’s heat.

Bring out your familiar traditions that always accompany your visits….football games, bonfires, costumes, parades, and feasts of thanksgiving.  They make me smile and hug myself, just to envision them.

And best of all, please bring out your paint set and get busy on those trees, Missy….yellows, oranges, reds, and golds.  They’ve been waiting to dress for the occasion.  I can’t begin to tell you how much I love their fashion show.

Yes, Autumn, I am SO glad you are here.  You are truly my BFF!  We are going to have such a great visit that I may not let you leave!!

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens”         Ecclesiastes 3:1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to hello old friend…..

  1. Sweet reflection on the season, Pam! It’s my favorite, too, so yes, bring it on! Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

